We are a collection of people with varied backgrounds and diverse life experiences. Our economic situations, family compositions, and abilities vary. We are various genders and sexual orientations. We are business owners, pharmacists, farmers, government employees, retirees, veterans, teachers, musicians, doctors, mechanics, and more. All of us call “Old Durham” home. We’d love to have you join us!

When we gather in God’s name, our unity is strengthened by our diversity. We strive to share Christ’s love in the world, putting our common life together before uniformity of opinion. Some of us have been members of this church since birth; others have just joined. We welcome questions and curiosity about faith. We are a small church whose faith is strengthened through our Sunday worship, small group study, and community service. We share joys, concerns, music, food, and laughter.

Durham Church is an inclusive community of faith. Wherever you are on your journey of faith, we welcome you and affirm your identity as a child of God.

Many of us have found our way here from other denominations. We are part of the Diocese of Washington in The Episcopal Church, which in turn is a member of the world-wide Anglican Communion. You can learn more about these traditions and their beliefs here.


The Rt. Rev. Mariann E. Budde

The Rev. Catharine T. Gibson

The Rev. Susan Fritz

The Episcopal Church is organized into dioceses, each led by a bishop. Our Diocese, the Episcopal Diocese of Washington, is led by the Rt. Rev. Mariann E. Budde. Our church is one of more than 80 parishes in our diocese, and one of about 20 in the Southern Maryland region. Each parish is led by an ordained priest, called the Rector. We are fortunate to have the services of an ordained deacon. The ministry of deacons is directed by the bishop, who may assign them duties anywhere in the diocese.

Lay Leadership

Senior Warden
Dian Lockamy

Junior Warden
Rick Viohl

Clerk of Vestry
Dian Lockamy, serving as interim

Carl Lockamy

The lay leadership body of an Episcopal parish is known as the Vestry. Our vestry is made up of six lay members and the Rector. Members of the vestry are elected annually by the parish to staggered three-year terms. The senior lay member is known as the Senior Warden, and takes responsibility for the parish when there is no Rector. The other officers of the Vestry include the Junior Warden, the Clerk of the Vestry, and the Treasurer.

Music Program

Don Chandler is currently serving as our interim Organist and Choirmaster.


Membership in the Episcopal Church is open to all God’s children, and is governed by the canons of the Episcopal Church. Voting members of this parish are those baptized persons at least 18 years old who are recorded in the Parish Register, who are faithful in attendance at worship, and who are contributors of record to the parish.